Knowledgebase: Awards
Posted by on 05 November 2011 12:43 AM

The COMO Charles S. Greanoff Award recognizes the most exemplary performance by a Flotilla Commander during the calendar year.  Only those Flotilla Commanders who demonstrated sustained, exceptional standards of proficiency and conduct, and whose appearance and bearing were consistently impeccable, shall be considered for nomination.  The period of the award must start with assumption of office on 1 January of the calendar year.

This award parallels the other Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards: Captain John G. Whitherspoon Inspirational Leadership Award for Active Duty and Reserve Officers, the George R. Putnam Inspirational Leadership Award for Civilians, and the MCPO Angela M. McShan Inspirational Leadership Award for Active Duty or Reserve Chief Petty Officers (E-7).

The NACO solicits nominations in September of each year.  Nomination packages must originate at the Flotilla level and can be submitted by any member directly to the Division Commander.  The DCDR must submit nominations by 15 October.  An example submission package template is attached.

Eligibility criteria and submission requirement information is available in the Auxiliary Manual, Chapter 11, Section A.16.f.  More information about COMO Greanoff can be found at



000128//Updated by BC-UMK on 29 Sep 15

 greanoff-nomination-package-2.doc (26.50 KB)

Help Desk Software by Kayako Resolve